Child sexual Abuse victims
A new California Bill would provide a 3-year window for child sexual abuse victims to file suit against churches, schools and public entities even if the abuse happened decades ago.
California Child Sexual Abuse Bill
The bill could give child sexual abuse survivors much more time — in some cases, decades — to sue those who perpetuated, engaged in or were in a position to report their abuse to authorities but remained silent.
The proposed law was written by Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D-San Diego) and would allow victims of child sexual abuse to file abuse claims until they are 40 years old and/or allow a window of 5 years for those who unearth repressed memories of sex abuse later in their lifetimes.
Giving Child Sexual Abuse Victims a Voice
This bill is important to many victims because it allows the most vulnerable to have a voice that they have not had before. Many sex abuse victims were orphans, had no family support or no place to turn to when the abuse was happening. Many victims reported their abuse to authorities but were shamed and silenced. Some have suppressed their experiences for decades and suffer with sexual identity, flash backs, lack of self-worth, drug or alcohol abuse and depression. Many have remained silent out of fear of what others might think of them or the fear of being alone. With this bill, victims have a greater window of time to seek justice and to process their abuse.
If this Bill passes, time limits will be expanded, and victims will have three years after the date of the bill’s passage to file a claim. Victims can sue schools, churches and public institutions that covered their abuse. Essentially, the bill proposes a three – year window to bring forth your law suit.